SEOUL, :South Korean President Moon Jae-in appointed seven new members of the board of directors for a state commission tasked with managing and overseeing the country's key wire service Yonhap News Agency, the culture ministry said Monday.

The Korea News Agency Commission (KONAC) is the largest shareholder of Yonhap News under relevant laws.

All the directors are appointed by the president from among recommended candidates, including three recommended by the National Assembly, one by the Korean Association of Newspapers and one by the Korean Broadcasters Association. Their term is for three years.

According to the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Kang Ki-sok -- a former managing editor at Kyunghyang Shinmun and former chairman of the Korean Newspaper Circulation Service, which merged with the Korea Press Foundation in 2010 -- was elected chairman of the fifth board of directors.

Other members include Kim Sae-eun, a media professor at Kangwon University; Park Jong-ryul, a media professor at Gacheon University; and Kim Dong-gyu, a media professor at Konkuk University's Graduate School of Mass Communication and Public Relations.

Also included are Yoon Jae-hong, former director of KBS' Jeju bureau; Hur Seung-ho, secretary general at the Korean Association of Newspapers; and Jin Hong-soon, a former member of KBS' board of directors.

The board will pick Yonhap's new executives before the three-year terms of current president Park No-hwang and other executives expire on March 24.

Source: Yonhap News Agency