SEOUL, President Moon Jae-in will appoint two new ministers Monday, his office Cheong Wa Dae said, amid strong objections from the main opposition party.

An appointment ceremony for the two new ministers will be held at 2 p.m., the presidential office said.

At the ceremony, the president will appoint Park Young-sun as the new culture minister and Kim Yeon-chul as the new unification minister.

The ceremony will also likely be attended by three other ministers who were appointed earlier without a formal ceremony.

They are Culture Minister Park Yang-woo, Oceans Minister Moon Seong-hyeok and Interior Minister Chin Young.

The three were appointed shortly after the National Assembly published reports on the outcome of their confirmation hearings.

The main opposition Liberty Korea Party (LKP) has twice refused to publish such reports for the new venture and unification ministers.

Parliamentary approval is not required for the appointment of new government ministers but doing so without the hearing reports often leads to political strife.

"If President Moon Jae-in does not withdraw his nomination for Venture Firms Minister nominee Park Young-sun and Unification Minister nominee Kim Yeon-chul, our party cannot but resist together with the people," LKP chief Hwang Kyo-an said earlier Monday in a rebuttal to the appointment.

The five new ministers and ministers-to-be were among seven nominees named early last month. The president was forced to withdraw his nomination for the new Science Minister Cho Dong-ho, who was found to have taken part in what is widely considered to be a fake international science conference.

Moon's earlier pick for the new transportation minister stepped down voluntarily after he came under fire over alleged real estate speculation.

Source: Yonhap news Agency